Sticking It Out

Are you walking through a time in your life that feels hopeless? It can be a lonely place to be. Sometimes separation from friends and family is by choice. I’ve been there, done that. I’ve pulled away when things didn’t feel safe or solid in my life. I didn’t want to chance vulnerability when I was already drowning in despair.

Over the years I’ve learned that I need quiet time to reflect, but ultimately having someone with me to walk out whatever it was I was going through was a comfort. It wasn’t that I needed answers from anyone. It was just the knowledge that they had my back that eased the hard edge of  hopelessness.

I can’t help but think of the story of Naomi and Ruth. Naomi, her husband, and her two sons had moved to another country because of a shortage of food in their own country. Naomi’s husband then died leaving her alone with her sons. Her sons married, and after 10 years, they also died. Naomi felt that the Lord had turned against her. She decided to return to her home country and did not want her daughter-in-laws to go with her. She had nothing to offer them. One of her daughters-in-law, Ruth, would not leave Naomi. She wouldn’t walk away from the the current situation or the raw anguish.

But Ruth said, “Don’t force me to leave you; don’t make me go home. Where you go, I go; and where you live, I’ll live. Your people are my people, your God is my god; where you die, I’ll die, and that’s where I’ll be buried, so help me God—not even death itself is going to come between us!” Ruth 1:16-17

I can only imagine the mixed feelings Naomi must have had that Ruth was adamant to follow her. And yet, Ruth followed with faith and devotion. She stuck it out with Naomi. She worked and provided for both of them. Naomi was not alone in her despair, but supported and loved through it. I believe Ruth represented the Father to Naomi. The one who is always faithful even when it seems He is absent. And in the case of Naomi and Ruth, His faithfulness was shown through provision, and eventually a new husband for Ruth, and a grandchild for Naomi. A hope for the future.